Samuel Ward Academy is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, young people and vulnerable adults and expect all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

Concerned about a child

If you have a concern regarding the safety or welfare of a child, please contact a member of the Safeguarding Team on 01440 761511, or on their email address as listed below. Alternatively, you can call Children and Young People's Service directly and anonymously on 0808 800 4005.

For further information, please see our Safeguarding and Online Safety Policies under the policies section.

Samuel Ward Academy Safeguarding Team

Name Position Role Contact
Mr  A Hunter Headteacher Headteacher of Samuel Ward Academy head@samuelward.co.uk
Miss Jenna Powell Assistant Headteacher Designated Safeguarding Lead jpowell@samuelward.co.uk
Ms Dawn Fenwick SENDCO Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead dfenwick@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs Gemma Wheeler Inclusion Officer Alternate Designated Safeguarding Lead gwheeler@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs Samantha Ockelford Inclusion Officer Alternate Designated Safeguarding Lead sockelford@samuelward.co.uk
Miss Mary Coe Inclusion Officer Alternate Designated Safeguarding Lead mcoe@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs Wendy Jeffery Office Manager Alternate Designated Safeguarding Lead wjeffery@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs Helen Gillard Attendance Officer Alternate Designated Safeguarding Lead hgillard@samuelward.co.uk
Sue Kehr Safeguarding Governor Chair of Local Governing Body skehr@samuelward.co.uk
Rosemary Prince Trust Director of Education  Trust Director of Education  rprince@swatrust.co.uk

Children in Care

Samuel Ward adopts a fully inclusive approach to Children in Care and has a strong reputation for promoting the welfare and achievement of these pupils across the region.

The Designated Teacher for Children in Care is Miss Jenna Powell, Assistant Headteacher.  She can be contacted via 01440 761511 or jpowell@samuelward.co.uk.