Samuel Ward Academy is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, young people and vulnerable adults and expect all staff and volunteers to share this commitment

Concerned about a child

If you have a concern regarding the safety or welfare of a child, please contact a member of the Safeguarding Team on 01440 761511, or on their email address as listed below. Alternatively, you can call Children and Young People's Service directly and anonymously on 0808 800 4005.

For further information, please see our Safeguarding and Online Safety Policies under the policies section.

Samuel Ward Academy Safeguarding Team

Name Position Role Contact
Mr. A Hunter Headteacher Headteacher of Samuel Ward Academy / Designated Safeguarding Lead head@samuelward.co.uk
Miss Jenna Powell (maternity leave) Assistant Headteacher Designated Safeguarding Lead/ jpowell@samuelward.co.uk
Miss Mary Coe Inclusion Officer Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead mcoe@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs Gemma Wheeler Inclusion Officer Alternate Safeguarding Lead gwheeler@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs Sian Cripps Inclusion Officer Alternate Designated Lead scripps@samuelward.co.uk
Miss Sophie Ireland Behaviour Lead Alternate Safeguarding Lead / Designated teacher for Children in Care sireland@samuelward.co.uk
Miss Josie Bush Inclusion Officer Alternate  Safeguarding Lead jbush@samuelward.co.uk
Mr Harry Ford Inclusion Officer Alternate  Safeguarding Lead hford@samuelward.co.uk
Ms Susie Williams Inclusion Officer Alternate  Safeguarding Lead swilliams@samuelward.co.uk
Sue Kehr Safeguarding Governor Chair of Local Governing Body skehr@samuelward.co.uk
Stephen Astley Senior Director of Education  USP Senior Director of Education 

sastley@unitysp.co.uk

Children in Care

Samuel Ward adopts a fully inclusive approach to Children in Care and has a strong reputation for promoting the welfare and achievement of these pupils across the region.

The Designated Teacher for Children in Care is Miss Ireland.  She can be contacted via 01440 761511 or sireland@samuelward.co.uk

Advice for parents about how to help their children use social media safely